California Cell Phone Law

New California Cell Phone Law to Take Effect in 2017

By Hoffman Brown Insurance | , , , , , | No Comments
Share This:

Find out how the new California cell phone law affects you.

Do you use your phone while driving? If so, you will need to read up on how the new California cell phone law affects drivers. To prevent breaking the law and facing a fine, read on for what you need to know. Currently, the new cell phone law will take effect January 1st, 2017.

Governor Jerry Brown signed the Assembly Bill 1785 on Monday, October 3, 2016, stating the new rules on where you can put your phone and how you can use it while driving. The law will no longer allow motorists in California to hold their phone while operating a vehicle. If you are caught using your phone while driving, you could face a $20.00 fine and $50.00 for each subsequent offense.

However, there is an exception. You will be allowed to make a single tap or swipe on your phone as long as the phone is mounted or fixed to the vehicle. For many Californians, a cell phone car mount will be required if they plan on using the phone’s navigational system, music features, or Bluetooth options.

If you plan on driving while using your cell phone, the time to secure a car mount and learn the new law is now!

Further protect yourself on the roads by visiting the team at Hoffman Brown Company in Sherman Oaks, California. They serve motorists with auto insurance to suit their needs, and have done so since 1961. Give the team a call today; they are always happy to help.