New Requirements for Sexual Harassment Training Effective 1-1-19 under SB 1343

By Hoffman Brown Insurance | | No Comments
Share This:

The new law is simple: California employers (those with five or more employees) must provide harassment prevention training to all employees. Prior to this new law, California employers had to train just their managers—typically about 25% of the workforce. Under the new law, they need to increase their effort and focus to 100% of the workforce.

SB 1343 Training Mandates

SB 1343 requires employers of five or more employees (this includes seasonal and temporary employees) to provide sexual harassment training every two years:

  • By January 1, 2020 (meaning training must happen in 2019)
  • Within six months of new employees assuming their position (and once every two years thereafter)
  • For at least two hours for all supervisors
  • For at least one hour for all nonsupervisory employees

Although the bill does not require this additional content, SB 1300 additionally authorizes employers to include bystander intervention training into its program. SB 1343 also requires the California Department of Fair Employment and Housing to develop and make available training courses that comply with these requirements.

Hoffman Brown will be hosting a 2 hour webinar for Managers & Supervisors on Tues, Nov. 12th and a 1 hour webinar for Non-Managers and Non-Supervisors on Tues, Nov. 5th.  Invitations will be sent beginning in early October.